Reviews

Christina's 40th Birthday party 04-08-016 (Video)

I joined Yelp today just so I could give Mike a review. I'm not surprised that he has such stellar reviews on Yelp! He was the DJ for my 40th birthday party, and everyone raved about how amazing he was! Even though it was a smaller event with 30 ladies, he made us all feel like VIPs. The photo booth was such a hit, and I don't know what kind of magic filter or lighting he uses, but we all looked like we were 21! It was so much fun to take endless pictures at the photo booth and then be able to immediately email the photos to ourselves to keep! The party was Paris-themed and he even had a beautiful Eiffel Tower template to frame the photos which was a really nice touch.

The dancing was so much fun too! He played all the songs that we loved and even joined us on the dance floor for some of them! It just felt like he was also having a good time with us, and not just doing his "job." Some DJ's just stare at their equipment all night long and don't even interact with guests, but he really went out of his way to make sure that everyone was having a good time.

Finally, the biggest bonus was that he took pictures during the party and then surprised me afterwards with so many photos that really told the story of the whole night. We had a separate professional photographer, but some of Mike's photos were better! Mike even captured a shot of my husband hiding before he came out to surprise me...I was so touched that he captured that moment! Truly precious and priceless. Thank you, Mike, for being a part of a milestone birthday for me and helping to make it unforgettable. You are the best and will be the only DJ I recommend to people!

 

 

Mary and Sam's New Year Wedding 12-31-2015 (Video)

Found Mike on Yelp of course and the reviews DO NOT LIE.  He was amazing in every aspect and seriously made our wedding the experience of the year.  We had a New Years Eve wedding, which we were so happy he was not already booked for another party already.  

Mike was super organized and knew exactly what he was doing.  He obviously has plenty of experience doing what he does best because everything ran so smoothly.  Out of all of our vendors (photographer and wedding coordinator) Mike was on top of everything and basically coordinated everything.  

We were hesitant going into a DJ search because on top of all the other wedding expenses, we kept hearing how much other people spent on their DJ and it was a number we were not prepared to pay.  Mike ended up being way under what we expected and he threw in so many bonuses because he was simply a nice guy.  

We got a simple photo booth for extra and I'm bummed our guests only took a few shots because the pictures we did get were of amazing quality.  Everyone talked about how good the music was and I can't remember one time in the night that the dance floor wasn't packed.  All in all, if we ever throw a large scale party again, we will definitely be using Mike.  (Plus recommending him to everyone we know.)

I never write Yelp reviews, but we were so grateful to have stumbled upon Mike's Yelp page.  Our party and once in a lifetime celebration of our wedding simply would not have been as good without DJ Mike.  We cannot thank him enough!!

 

 

Kim and Jon's Wedding 09-06-2015

BOOK THIS MAN NOW!  

I always say, "Thank-you Yelp!" when I discover a good find.  But really, yelped helped me find Mike as a DJ and that was one of the best decisions my husband and I made by booking him.

Reading all of the 5-star reviews, I was quite comfortable with trusting Mike to be professional for the event.  My now husband and I reached out to him and set up an appt to talk over the phone to see what he had to offer.  He was great over the meeting, very professional, had everything laid out.  Made it easy on us on what to expect from him.  I've always been the type to trust my gut so after that phone conversation we were like "yea he's cool.  Let's book him." to even Mike's surprise at how quick we decided on it.

But I really did not realize quite how essential and awesome he would be!  I gave out an invitation to my vendors who wanted to join me with visiting my wedding venue.  Mike agreed to come (all the way down to Gilroy).  I literally did not expect that.  Then during our visit down there, the wedding venue coordinator went over all of the responsibilities the DJ is expected to do and it blew my mind how important a DJ was to a wedding.  He was basically our conductor.  After he gave the venue coordinator his card, she remembered hearing his name as he did an event at the site previously and the staff raved about him.  Gave me a huge sense of trust.

Throughout the whole process, Mike was super communicative and accessible. I must have sent him a crap ton of emails and schedules.

Day of the wedding, he came to the site early to set up and man he comes with a lot because he offers a lot!  

We used Mike for the ceremony, reception, and up lighting.  He brought it all and then some additional stuff!  Throughout the day, he helped make sure we were on schedule, coordinated with us on what's to come, made sure the guests were kept active and entertained.  

Mike was a life saver.  It wasn't until after our wedding when I was doing a walk through to make sure all was in order that I saw Mike do his break down and realized how much equipment and items he brought and provided for my wedding.  

Most important of all, Mike is just an all around nice and kind guy.  Like a genuinely nice person. He made working with him so much fun and easy.  I would HIGHLY recommend you use DJMB for your events.

If we ever needed a DJ for any future life events, I won't be looking anywhere else.

 

Kaitlynn's 16th Birthday 08-08-2015

Hello Susanna (Event Manager at Silver Creek Country Club, San Jose, CA)

I wanted to send you a separate note to let you know how pleased we are, once again, that DJ Mike Bowns was the DJ for Kaitlynn Sweet Sixteen Party last Saturday night!

Every time we have a party, we have a full crowd of dancers.....including the people who swore to me that " they do not dance.....ever".  Well, that is what DJ Mike will do.............he will get everyone dancing!

Also his photo booth was a total hit, the amazing lights, the music, the phone charger station, perfect sound system, etc.

He is very professional and kept in touch with me during the year while we coordinated the event and had a meeting the week before the event to go over specific party details and the music list.

I just wanted to make sure that you knew that ALL the kids told Kaitlynn how "awesome the DJ was".  And the big kids ( the adults) also told me that they loved the music!!
Our family highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ at the club.

Thank you
Caroline

 


Nicole and Travis' Wedding 05-16-2015

Mike Bowns, YOU ARE THE MAN! Here are some details on why Mike - DJMB is the man.

Pre-Wedding:
Luckily for us, finding our first wedding DJ wasn't very difficult. Looking at reviews on Yelp, Mike is highly rated. He was the first DJ we met. After meeting with him, we were super impressed by his portfolio and organization and felt extremely confident we had one of the best DJ services in the bay area. Mike was very accommodating to my wife and I's work schedule's meeting us wherever and whenever we needed, even if it was last minute or if we had to reschedule. He always asked the write questions to make sure we were on the rite track in terms of wedding timeline and was very instrumental in our decisions. His experience shows.

Wedding Day:
Our ceremony and reception were all at the Rengstorff house. We got the full package with Mike + the photo booth. From what we remember of the ceremony, Mike had these discreet, tall, wireless speakers setup on each side for the music/speaking. They looked really nice with the ceremony setup. As far as wedding ceremony sound went, everything was perfect with our wireless mic's he gave us and the officiates mic.

For the cocktail hour and reception, Mike was flawless. Starting with the cocktail hour, Mike smoothly transitioned everyone from the ceremony to the cocktail hour. Music was great and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves while we were taking pics. One thing we won't forget was when my wife was dehydrated and stressed during the photo shoot, Mike shows up out of no where and offer's her a drink with some appetizers. 

The best part of the night was the reception and dancing. To this day my family/friends still tell us how much fun they had and that it was one of the best weddings they've been to. I give most of the credit to Mike and his accomplice, Lucky. Not only was the music amazing and got everyone of all ages dancing, but the timing/planning of everything else was perfect. From our grand entrance Mike recommended, to the AMAZING Photo Booth everyone loved, to the awesome pictures and video he took, to feeling the crowd for all the rite songs to play, we couldn't have asked for a better DJ. 

For those of you trying to find THE BEST DJ for your wedding,
choose Mike - DJMB Entertainment. He will NOT disappoint!!

 

Cotillion 18th Birthday Party  01-14-2015

From Bea:
If you ever need an outstanding DJ, call Mike Bowns!
We were extremely lucky to have found out about Mike! We were in dire need for a DJ for my cotillion which was a week away. He's everything you could ever ask for from a DJ/MC and more!
We talked over the phone to discuss a detailed timeline for the party to make sure that the event flowed smoothly. He was professional and also really friendly:) He even suggested fun things that made the party even better by the end. I could already tell over the phone that Mike was really cool.
With a short week for preparation, my family was really impressed and grateful for his ability to be on top of things before the event. On the day of the event, he had prepared his whole setup hours before the party started. He did an amazing job transforming the room with his festive lights. The music was awesome and all of my friends and family really really enjoyed it!! Another awesome thing that he did was that he joined us on the dance floor and taught us line dance moves! Ha-ha that was extremely fun. His pictures and selfies with his camera captured the greatest moments in the party! Thank you so much Mike for making my cotillion an incredible experience!

From Mom:
My daughter held her 18th birthday/cotillion bash and we really needed a DJ for her party, so I checked out Mike Browns' website. I liked everything that I read there so I gave Mike a call, and he responded quickly. Mike was polite, accommodating, and very easy to talk with. Before the party, he paid meticulous attention to details. We had an emcee, but Mike still suggested a schedule for the event and coordinated this closely with my daughter. My husband had created a movie/slideshow for my daughter, and Mike asked my husband to send it to him days before the event, just to make sure that it would play. He plugged in my daughter's music requests, and sent us a list of his own playlist. During the event itself, Mike showed up punctually, set us his equipment and was ready an hour ahead of schedule. Everything went according to plan. His music was very upbeat, and everyone, both teens and adults alike, enjoyed dancing to his music. He helped emcee, took pictures, and even took excellent pictures of the event that he graciously posted for us to download. There was a guest who offered to sing for my daughter, and Mike was able to plug in the music from the guest's iPhone into his sound system, so the impromptu song rendition went without a hitch. With Mike's help, the party went very smoothly. The guests did not want the music to end. I would very definitely recommend Mike to all my friends.


Linda and John's Wedding 07-26-2014

DJMB Entertainment is a one stop shop for all your wedding sound/lights needs.  Mike was not only the DJ and MC for our wedding ceremony and reception, he also provided all the lighting, photo booth, monogram/ceiling/floor projection, and slide show projection screen.  We met with Mike multiple times in person plus numerous phone conferences before the wedding to go through all the details. He was always professional and took the time to walk us through the process.  The suggestions he gave us for the reception entrance involved all the guests at the party and was something no one had seen before and really set the tone for the rest of the night!  Mike provided top of the line lighting, which produced perfect ambiance for the whole facility and the music he played was spot on.  We received so many compliments from friends and family about how much fun they had and how nice the reception was.  We'd highly recommend Mike for your wedding.  Keep up the great work, Mike!

 

  


Min & Geoff's Wedding 06-21-2014

Mike was an incredible DJ for our wedding. First off, his attention to detail and customer service is outstanding. He drove a couple of hours on a Sunday to meet us at our venue for a pre-wedding meeting that lasted only 30 minutes, and then met with us at our request over the phone 4 more times for over an hour each to hash out every detail. He also had half a dozen word documents pre-created that made the planning process simple, including a timeline template, a fun questionnaire for us to learn about our wedding party and us, and lists of the top wedding songs, and top party songs from practically every decade. During our pre-meetings he helped us walk through every moment of our timeline and ensure our wedding flowed. There were many details we had not thought of but were integral to making our wedding flow. The day of the wedding, Mike was the all-star of our wedding. All of our guests kept asking us who our DJ was because our wedding was the best dance party they had ever been to. It seemed like he played the right music at every moment. At one point he was even able to get our entire 120 person wedding up and dancing on the dance floor. When most of the family left the wedding, and our friends, all mid 20's to early 30's, were left, he shifted the music and had the best party mix. He also acted as a pseudo wedding planner and photographer the day of the wedding, helping our wedding party to stay on point, coordinating our speeches, and capturing some of the best photos from our wedding. He has great equipment as well. His DJ setup looks incredibly professional, and his light setup made the dance floor look amazing. As icing on the cake he brought us free up lighting the day of the wedding without telling us just because a colleague of his had said up lighting would make our venue look great, and he was right! Mike also has a great projector setup that we used for a slide show and later a music video. I can't say enough great things about Mike because he really made our wedding so amazing, and we are very grateful. Thanks Mike!!